City Government

Mayor and Administrative Assistant | City CouncilorsAdministrative Department Heads | City Offices | School Board


This page is no longer being updated as of January 1, 2018.

However, many of the links and phone numbers will remain useful. A shortened version of this listing is available for pickup at each Library location.


 

City of Duluth website

Contacts for City Departments


To find your city district and precinct, go to the Duluth Polling Place Finder or the Minnesota Polling Place Finder , or call the Duluth City Clerk's Office (730-5500), the Duluth Public Library (730-4200/option 5) (inside Duluth) or St. Louis County Voter Registration (726-2385) (outside Duluth). 

Designations for officials:
(e) = elected officials
(a) = appointed officials

Numbers in parentheses (2002) indicate the year that an elected official stands for re-election. The terms usually end in January of the following year.

 

City of Duluth Officials (e - 4 year terms)

If no email address is listed, look for a "Contact" link or form on the web page.

Mayor - Emily Larson  (e, 4 year term)  (2019)
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 403
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5230  fax: 218-730-5924
web: www.duluthmn.gov/mayor
email: elarson@duluthmn.gov

Chief Administrative Officer - David Montgomery
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 402
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5370  fax: 218-730-5904
web: www.duluthmn.gov/administrative-officer

Chief Financial Officer - Wayne Parson
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 107
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5044  fax: 218-730-5919
web: www.duluthmn.gov/finance

City Attorney - Gunnar Johnson
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 410
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5490  fax: 218-730-5918
web: www.duluthmn.gov/attorneys

 

back to top 


City Council (e)

City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 330
Duluth, MN 55802
Web: http://www.duluthmn.gov/city-council/city-councilors/
(to e-mail remarks to the entire council, use the "Contact" link on this page)

Gary Anderson - Councilor (2019)
1st Council District; Precincts 1-7
30 E. St. Andrews St.
Duluth, MN 55803
tel: 218-391-7404;  fax: 218-730-5923
email: ganderson@duluthmn.gov

Zack Filipovich - Councilor (2021)
Councilor at large; Precincts 1-34
325 West Fifth Street, Duluth, MN 55806
Duluth, MN 55812
tel: 218-393-0212  fax: 218-730-5923
email: zfilipovich@duluthmn.gov

Jay Fosle - Councilor (2019) 
5th Council District; Precincts 28-34
323  103rd Ave. W.
Duluth, MN 55808
tel: 218-626-3584 (h)  fax: 218-730-5923
email: jfosle@duluthmn.gov

Elissa Hansen - Councilor (2019) (President)
Councilor at Large; Precincts 1-34
330 City Hall, 411 W 1st St. Duluth, MN 55802
Duluth, MN 55803
tel:218-730-5352;  fax: 218-730-5923
email: ehansen@duluthmn.gov

Renee Van Nett - Councilor (2021)
4th Council District; Precincts 21-27
216 W Central Entrance
Duluth, MN  55811
tel: 218-730-5354;  fax: 218-730-5923
email: rvannett@DuluthMN.gov

Noah Hobbs - Councilor (2019)
Councilor at Large; Precincts 1-34
4201 W. 8th St.
Duluth, MN 55807
tel: 218-730-5351  fax: 218-730-5923
email: nhobbs@duluthmn.gov

Barb Russ - Councilor (2021)
Councilor at large, Precincts 1-34
322 N. 22nd Ave. E.
Duluth, MN  55812
tel: 218-310-2065 (h)  fax: 218-730-5923
email: bruss@duluthmn.gov

Joel Sipress - Councilor (2021) 
2nd Council District; Precincts 8-13
2023 E. 4th St.
Duluth, MN 55812
tel: 218-349-6630  fax: 218-730-5923
email: jsipress@duluthmn.gov

Em Westerlund - Councilor (2019)
3rd Council District; Precincts 14-20
330 City Hall, 411 W. 1st St.
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5353  fax: 218-730-5923
email: ewesterlund@duluthmn.gov



Jeffrey Cox, City Clerk - Secretary of Council
330 City Hall
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5353  fax: 218-730-5923
web: www.duluthmn.gov/city-clerk/

 

back to top 


Administrative Department Heads (a)

City of Duluth website: www.duluthmn.gov

Business and Economic Development - Heather Rand
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 402
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5310  fax: 218-730-5904
email: hrand@duluthmn.gov

Finance - Wayne Parson
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 106
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5044  fax: 218-730-5919
email: wparson@duluthmn.gov

Fire Department - Dennis Edwards
#1 Firehall
602 W. 2nd St.
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-4390  
email: dedwards@duluthmn.gov
web:  www.duluthmn.gov/fire/

Planning and Construction Services - Keith Hamre
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 208
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5580   fax: 218-730-5904
email:  khamre@duluthmn.gov
web:  www.duluthmn.gov/community-planning

Police Department - Mike Tusken
2030 N. Arlington Ave.
Duluth, MN 55811
tel: 218-730-5020  fax: 218-730-5910
email:  mtusken@duluthmn.gov
web:  www.duluthmn.gov/police/

Public Administration - Jim Filby Williams
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 322
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-4491
email: jfwilliams@duluthmn.gov

Public Works and Utilities - Jim Benning
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 200
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5105  fax: 218-730-5907
email:  jbenning@duluthmn.gov
web: www.comfortsystemsduluth.com

 

back to top 


City Offices (a)

City Hall Information - 730-5000

Assessor - moved to County Office

Auditor - Josh Bailey
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 107
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5350  fax: 218-730-5919
email:  jbailey@duluthmn.gov

Budget Manager - Jennifer Carlson
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 210
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5195  fax: 218-730-5919
email:  jcarlson@DuluthMN.gov

Building Official - Daniel W. Nelson
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 210
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5163  fax: 218-730-5901
email:  dwnelson@duluthmn.gov

Business Resources - Heidi Timm-Bijold
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 402
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5324  fax: 218-730-5904
email:  HTIMM@duluthmn.gov

City Clerk - Jeffrey Cox
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 330
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5740  fax: 218-730-5923
web: www.duluthmn.gov/city-clerk/
email: jcox@duluthmn.gov

City Engineer - Cindy Voigt
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 202
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5071  fax: 218-730-5907
email:  cvoigt@duluthmn.gov

Community Planning - Adam Fulton
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 407
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5580  fax: 218-730-5915
email:  afulton@duluthmn.gov

Construction Services and Inspection - Wendy Rannenberg
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 210
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5159   fax: 218-730-5901
email:  wrannenberg@duluthmn.gov

Human Resources, Healthcare & Safety - Theresa Severance
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 313
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5202  fax: 218-730-5906
email:  tseverance@duluthmn.gov

Human Rights Officer - Carl Crawford
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 106b
Duluth, MN 55805
tel: 218-730-5630  fax: 218-730-5918  
email:  ccrawford@duluthmn.gov

Libraries - Carla Powers
Main Library
520 W. Superior St.
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-4225  
email:  cpowers@duluthmn.gov
web:  www.duluthlibrary.org

Maintenance Operations - Greg Guerrero
4825 Mike Colalillo Dr.
Duluth, MN 55807
tel: 218-730-4058 
email:  gguerrero@duluthmn.gov

Parks and Recreation Director - William Roche
411 W. 1st St.
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-4309
web:  www.duluthmn.gov/parks/

Purchasing Agent - Amanda Ashbach
100 City Hall
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5340  fax: 218-730-5921
email:  aashbach@duluthmn.gov

Treasurer - vacant
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 105
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5054  fax: 218-730-5917

Workforce Development - Paula Reed
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 332
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5241  fax: 218-730-5952
email: preed@DuluthMN.gov

 

back to top

 

Branch Libraries and City Authorities

Branch Libraries:

West Duluth Branch Library
5830 Grand Ave.
Duluth, MN 55807
tel: 218-730-4280

Mount Royal Branch Library
105 Mt. Royal Shopping Circle
Duluth, MN 55803
tel: 218-730-4290

Duluth Airport Authority
Thomas Werner, Executive Director
4701 Grinden Dr.
Duluth International Airport
Duluth, MN 55811
tel: 727-2968  fax: 727-2960
email:  daa@duluthairport.com
web:  www.duluthairport.com

Duluth Economic Development Authority (DEDA)
Heather Rand
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 402
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5310  fax: 218-730-5904
email: hrand@duluthmn.gov

Duluth Entertainment Convention Center
Chelly Townsend, Executive Director
350 Harbor Dr.
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 722-5573 x203  fax: 722-4247
email:  drussell@decc.org
web: www.decc.org 

Duluth Transit Authority
Rod Fournier, General Manager
2402 W. Michigan St.
Duluth, MN 55806
tel: 218-722-4426  fax: 218-722-4428
email:  rfournier@duluthtransit.com
web:  www.duluthtransit.com

Housing & Redevelopment Authority
Jill Keppers
222 E. 2nd St.
P.O. Box 16900
Duluth, MN 55816-0900
tel: 218-529-6300  fax: 218-529-6344  tdd:  218-529-6321
email:  info@duluthhousing.com
web:  www.duluthhousing.com

Seaway Port Authority
Vanta E. Coda II 
1200 Port Terminal Dr.
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-727-8525   fax: 218-727-6888
email:  vcoda@duluthport.com
web: www.duluthport.com

Spirit Mountain Recreation Area
Brandy Ream, Executive Director
9500 Spirit Mtn. Place
Duluth, MN 55810
tel: 218-624-8501  fax: 218-624-0213
toll free: 800-642-6377
email:  bream@spiritmt.com
web: http://www.spiritmt.com

 

back to top

 

Independent School District #709

ISD #709 home page : www.isd709.org

Historic Old Central High School (Central Administration Building)
215 N. 1st Ave. E.
Duluth, MN 55802
218-336-8700


Superintendent of Schools - William Gronseth (a)
tel: 218-336-8752  fax: 218-336-8773
email:  william.gronseth@isd709.org

Assistant Superintendent - Amy Starzecki  (a)
tel: 218-336-8739  fax: 218-336-8776
email:  amy.starzecki@isd709.org

Business Services - Doug Hasler, Chief Financial Officer (a) 
tel: 218-336-8704  fax: 218-7336-8773
email:  douglas.hasler@isd709.org

Human Resources - Tim Sworsky, Senior Human Resources Manager (a)
tel: 218-336-8721  fax: 218-336-8785
email:  tim.sworsky@isd709.org

Facilities - David Spooner, Facilities Manager (a)
tel: 218-336-8907  fax: 218-336-8909
email:  tbd

Special Education Services - Jason Crane, Special Services Director  (a)
tel: 218-336-8741 x1108  fax: 218-336-8775
email:  jason.crane@isd709.org

Technology - Bart Smith, Technology Manager (a)
tel: 218-336-8754  fax: 218-337-8772
email:  bart.smith@isd709.org

 


Duluth School Board Members (e - four year terms)

To find your school board district, call the School Board (336-8752), the Duluth City Clerk's Office (730-5500) or the Duluth Public Library (730-4200/option 5).

To email all board members at once: schoolboard@isd709.org

View recorded School Board meetings online.


Annie Harala - (2017)
(Sally Trnka, board member-elect)
At Large, precincts 1-30, 32-34*
1129 N. 7th Ave. E.
Duluth, MN 55805
tel: 218-310-8993  fax: 218-336-8773
email:  annie.harala@isd709.org

Art Johnston - (2017)
(Jill Lofald, board member-elect)
4th District, precincts 21, 26-30, 32-34*
37 N. 93rd Ave. W.
Duluth, MN 55807
tel: 218-626-1997  fax: 218-336-8773
email:  arthur.johnston@isd709.org

David Kirby, chair - (2nd District, 2019)
(District includes Duluth precincts 3, 8-14)
2216 E. 2nd St..
Duluth, MN 55812
tel: 218-724-7095  fax: 218-336-8773
email: david.kirby@isd709.org

Rosie Loeffler-Kemp, vice-chair - (1st District, 2021)
(District includes Duluth precincts 1, 2, 4-7 & outside city limits)
2902 Bald Eagle Trail
Duluth, MN 55804
tel: 218-525-6878  fax: 218-336-8773
email: rosalie.loeffler-kemp@isd709.org

Alanna Oswald - (At Large, 2019) 
(District includes Duluth precincts 1-30, 32-34*)
615 N. 56th Ave. W.
Duluth, MN 55807
tel: 218-393-5365  fax: 218-336-8773
email: alanna.oswald@isd709.org

Nora Sandstad - (3rd District, 2019)
(District includes Duluth precincts 15-20, 22-25)
1429 Belmont Rd.
Duluth, MN 55812
tel: 218-461-8336  fax: 218-336-8773
email: nora.sandstad@isd709.org

Harry Welty - (2017)
(Josh Gorham, board member-elect)
At Large, District includes Duluth precincts 1-30, 32-34*
2101 E. 4th St.
Duluth, MN 55812
tel: 218-340-5197  fax: 218-336-8773
email: harry.welty@isd709.org

 

* Precinct 33 is in ISD #704 (Proctor)

 

back to top

 

 

In this Section